Skip to main content

Jensen Symposiums

Dr. Elwood V. Jensen (1921-2012) was University’s Distinguished Professor at the Department of Cancer Biology, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Dr. Elwood Jensen has won the Lasker Award, inaugural Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research and Susan G. Komen’s Brinker Award while at UC for his groundbreaking discovery of Estrogen Receptor (ER) and anti-estrogen therapy. His “bench-to-bedside” research has transformed the treatment of breast cancer patients and saves or prolongs more than 100,000 lives annually, as noted by the Lasker Foundation. To date, we have held 4 highly regarded Jensen Symposiums in honor of his life saving and groundbreaking discoveries.
Jensen Lasker Award

2004 Jensen Symposium - A Tribute to a Pioneer in the Field of Nuclear Receptor Biology

2009 Jensen Symposium on Nuclear Receptors

2016 Jensen Symposium on Breast Cancer

2018 Jensen Symposium - Celebrating the 60th Anniversary of the Discovery of Estrogen Receptor


Bert W. O'Malley, M.D. (2018)
Thompson Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Chancellor of Baylor College of Medicine


C. Kent Osborne, M.D. (2018)
Director, Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Tina and Dudley Sharp Chair in Oncology
Baylor College of Medicine

W. Lee Kraus, Ph.D. (2018)
Cecil H. and Ida Green Distinguished Chair in Reproductive Biology Sciences
Director of the Cecil H. and Ida Green Center for Reproductive Biology Sciences
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Carol A. Lange, Ph.D. (2018)
Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
Tickle Family Land Grant Endowed Chair
University of Minnesota Masonic Cancer Center

Directory Search
Intranet Login

Contact Us

Department of Cancer Biology

Vontz Center for Molecular Studies
3125 Eden Avenue
PO Box 670521
Cincinnati, OH 45267-0521

Mail Location: 0521
Phone: 513-558-5323
Fax: 513-558-1190