Skip to main content

Residency Administration

The physics residency program is developed and administered by the Physics Residency Program Director, an employee of University of Cincinnati, assisted by the Medical Physics Residency Steering Committee. Within the Department of Radiation Oncology, the administrative organization of the graduate educational program in Medical Physics is headed by the Director of Medical Physics Residency who is appointed by the Chairperson of the Department of Radiation Oncology, Dr. William Barrett. The Director oversees the smooth operation of the program and serves as liaison between the department and the GME office.

Physics Residency Steering Committee

The Physics Residency Steering Committee (PSC) is comprised of the Program Director, the Associate Program Director, the Medical Residency Program Director (MD), the Graduate Medical Physics Program Director, four staff physicists (including one from the proton practice and one from West Chester RT Center), and one dosimetrist/manager at WCRT & Proton Center.

The membership of the Physics Residency Steering Committee includes a radiation oncologist selected by the Chairperson of the Department of Radiation Oncology in consultation with the Physics Residency Program Director, typically the Residency Director.  The committee typically meets once or twice every six months. The agenda of each meeting shall include residents progress, program review, and residents’ suggestions and concerns.

Program Director

Dan Ionascu, PhD
Associate Professor

Associate Program Director

Nitin Kumar, MS
Assistant Professor

Program Coordinator

Michelle Reinhart


Directory Search
Intranet Login

Contact Us

Department of Radiation Oncology

Barrett Cancer Center
3151 Bellevue Avenue
Cincinnati, Ohio 45219

Phone: 513-584-4775
Fax: 513-584-4007