Skip to main content

Health Care Heroes

We raise our stethoscopes in honor of these heroes.

The UC College of Medicine congratulates six faculty members and our colleague Neil MacKinnon, BSc(Pharm), MSc(Pharm), PhD, dean of the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, for being finalists in the Cincinnati Business Courier’s 2018 Health Care Heroes awards. These awards honor those who have improved healthcare in Greater Cincinnati through medical expertise, innovative approaches, management skills, entrepreneurial initiatives, community outreach and patient care.

 Dustin Calhoun

Dustin Calhoun, MD, FAEMS, Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine

 Shimul Shah 

Shimul Shah, MD, Professor, Surgery and James and Catherine Orr Endowed Chair of Liver Transplantation; Section Chief, Solid Organ Transplantation

 Amy Bunger 

Amy Bunger, PhD, Assistant Professor, Medical Education

 Neil Mackinnon


Neil MacKinnon, BSc(Pharm), MSc(Pharm), PhD, Dean and Professor, James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

 Patient Experience 
 Robert Neel 

Robert Neel, MD, Vice Chair of Education and Associate Professor, Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine

 David Feldman 

David Feldman, MD, PhD, Professor, Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Health and Disease; Director of Clinical Services, UC Heart, Lung and Vascular Institute; Director of Advanced Myocardial and Circulatory Services

 Steve Woodle 

Steve Woodle, MD, Professor, Surgery and William A. Altemeier Chair in Surgery; Director, Solid Organ Transplantation, UC Health


The finalists will be honored, and winners announced, at an awards ceremony on Thursday, February 15, 2018, at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati.