Today is Saturday, Nov. 16, 2019

Department of

Pharmacology & Systems Physiology 

PSP Happenings


Katie Schappacher featured publication

September 2017:  Graduate student Katie Schappacher’s publication entitled “Early life vincristine exposure evokes mechanical pain hypersensitivity in the developing rat” was selected as Editor’s Choice in Pain: September 2017 - Volume 158 - Issue 9 - p 1647–1655.  Katie is a PhD candidate in the MCBP program in Dr. Mark Baccei's laboratory.  View this link to her Video Abstract


Katie Hobbing, PhD – New faculty hire

August 1, 2017:  Dr. Katie Hobbing joined the PSP faculty as Assistant Professor in the Educator Track. Dr. Hobbing earned her undergraduate degree in chemical engineering at Vanderbilt University, and her MS and PhD in pharmacology and toxicology at the University of Louisville. She continued her training as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Louisville, and then held the position of assistant professor at Bellarmine University. 


Nina Bertaux-Skeirik, PhD

July 13, 2017: Nina Bertuax-Skeirik, a PhD student in the Systems Biology and Physiology Program, successfully defended her doctoral dissertation “The Role of CD44 Variant Isoforms in Gastric Regeneration and Disease”.  Nina's research was completed under the mentorship of Yana Zavros, Ph.D.


Hanna Wetzel, PhD

July 7, 2017:  Hanna Wetzel,  a PhD student in the MCBP program, successfully defended her doctoral dissertation “Preclinical development of the anti-cocaine monoclonal antibody h2E2 for the treatment of cocaine addiction”.  Hanna’s research was completed under the mentorship of Andrew Norman, PhD.


Mohit Kumar awarded AHA pre-doctoral fellowship

July 1, 2017:  MCBP Graduate student, Mr. Mohit Kumar, is the recipient of an American Heart Association Pre-doctoral Fellowship for his project: “Role(s) of myosin binding protein-C phosphorylation in cardiac arrhythmias”.  Mr. Kumar will be working in the laboratory of Dr. Sakthivel Sadayappan.

Saeed-Grad announcement

Saeed Alshahrani, PhD

June 29, 2017:  Saeed Alshahrani, MCBP PhD student, successfully defended his doctoral dissertation “The Renal (Diuretic) and Extra Renal (Non- Diuretic) Actions of Hydrochlorothiazide”.  His research was done under the mentorship of Manoocher Soleimani, PhD.


Yutian Li – Ryan Fellowship Awardee for 2017–18

May 25, 2017:  Mr. Yutian (Ben) Li, Graduate student in the MCBP program, has been selected to be an Albert J. Ryan Fellow.  Ben is mentored by Guo-Chang Fan, PhD, Associate Professor in Pharmacology and Systems Physiology.  Awarding of an Albert J. Ryan Fellowship is the highest honor the College can bestow on graduate students while they are in their degree program.  

Robert Koncar, PhD

Robert Koncar, PhD

March 24, 2017: Our latest graduate from the SBP PhD program is Robert Koncar, whose dissertation "Exploiting genetic vulnerabilities to overcome treatment resistance in adult gliomas" was done under the mentorship of El Mustapha Bahassi, PhD.


Research Award for John MacLennan, PhD

March 22, 2017: John MacLennan, PhD has been chosen as the first winner of the Starr Family Spark Grant in ALS Research from the Mayfield Foundation.


Success at poster competition

February 28, 2017: At the annual scientific symposium of the Digestive Health Center, top prizes were won by graduate student Nina Bertaux-Skeirik (second place for "Patient-derived in vitro and in vivo organoid models of gastric cancer") and research scientist Jayati Chakbrabarti (third place for "Hedgehog signaling regulates PDL-1 expression in gastric cancer cells to induce tumor proliferation"). Both projects were done under the guidance of Yana Zavros, PhD.

Christian Hong, PhDBridge funding award for Christian Hong, PhD

January 25, 2017: The College of Medicine has awarded Christian Hong, PhD a bridge funding award for his project "Interconnected molecular network of circadian rhythms and cell cycle".


Allyson Hamlin, Ph.D.

December 6, 2016: MCBP Graduate student, Ms. Allyson Hamlin, successfully defended her doctoral thesis “Hepatic Lrp1 deficiency and the development of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease”.  Allyson's research was conducted under the mentorship of Dr. David Hui.  Dr. Hamlin will begin a postdoc in Clinical Pharmacology at John Hopkins University.


Kranias Chairs NIH Study Section

Litsa Kranias, PhD, Hanna Professor, Distinguished University Research Professor, was appointed Chair of the Cardiac Contractility, Hypertrophy and Heart Failure (CCHF) study section of the National Institutes of Health. The appointment is until July 2017. Section chairs are chosen on the basis of their demonstrated leadership in the field, strong record of NIH funding and scholarly publications, broad scientific perspective, reputation for integrity and fairness, respect by the scientific review officers panel, willingness to support NIH review policies, and the ability to appropriately manage meetings, review presentations and summarize discussion.

Three students win training grand

Training Grant Featured

November 10, 2016: See a feature article on the department's Advanced Multidisciplinary Training Program for Systems Biology.


Ryan Fellowship Award Recipients for 2016–17 

Kobina Essandoh, a graduate student in the MCBP program, (pictured 2nd from left) is one of four graduate students who was awarded the Albert J. Ryan Fellowship, the top academic honor for graduate students pursing research in the College of Medicine’s doctoral programs. The University of Cincinnati is one of three schools to receive fellowship funding; the other two are Harvard Medical School and the Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College.  Kobina is a third year student, mentored by Guo-Chang Fan, PhD, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Cell Biophysics. 

Christina Wei

Christina Wei, PhD

October 25, 2016: Christina Wei, was awarded her PhD from the SBP graduate program for her dissertation "The role of GSK3β-CUGBP1 pathway in the correction of DM1 muscle pathology". The work was done under the guidance of Lubov Timchenko, PhD.

Nina Bertaux-Skeirik

Nina Bertaux-Skeirik featured

March 21, 2016: See a feature article on SBP graduate student Nina Bertaux-Skeirik. Nina studies under the guidance of Yana Zavros, PhD.

Gopinath Sundaramurthy

Gopinath Sundaramurthy, PhD

March 11, 2016: Gopinath Sundaramurthy, a graduate student in the SBP PhD program, successfully defended his doctoral dissertation, "A probabilistic approach for automated discovery of biomarkers using expression data from microarray or RNA-Seq datasets". The work was done under the guidance of Hamid Eghbalnia, PhD.

Andrew Rosselot

Drew Rosselot receives a URC Summer Fellowship

March 9, 2016: Drew Rosselot, a graduate student in the SBP program,  has received a URC Graduate Summer Fellowship for his project "Age related changes to the coupling of circadian rhythms to the cell cycle". Drew studies under the guidance of Christian Hong, PhD.

Nina Bertaux-Skeirik

Nina Bertaux-Skeirik awarded Dean's Fellowship

February 15, 2016: Nina Bertaux-Skeirik, a graduate student in the SBP program, has been awarded a Graduate School Dean's Fellowship for her final year of graduate studies. Nina studies under the guidance of Yana Zavros, PhD.