Today is Monday, Dec. 11, 2017

Department of

Department of Internal Medicine

Residency Programs

Application Process & FAQs

What are the internal medicine resident training opportunities?

  • Physician Scientist - With special focus on clinical, basic or outcomes research.
  • Categorical Internal Medicine - This is the traditional three-year residency leading to board certification in Internal Medicine. Our Categorical Internal Medicine residency offers excellent preparation for a career in primary care, all of the subspecialties in Internal Medicine, hospitalist medicine, medical research and medical education.
  • Medicine Pediatrics - A combined four-year program leading to dual eligibility in both medicine and pediatrics.
  • Preliminary Medicine - This track is designed to build the generalist competencies needed for successful careers in Radiology, Anesthesiology, Dermatology, Neurology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Ophthalmology and Radiation Oncology.

 

How do I apply?

The University of Cincinnati Department of Internal Medicine accepts applications only through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS).We will begin reviewing applications in September 2017.

When should I apply?

Applications are accepted through ERAS for all residency tracks as early as September 2017. We accept applications to the Categorical, Clinical Scientist and Preliminary Residency tracks through January 2018.

Please include a Dean's Letter, two clinical letters of reference and an Internal Medicine Chairman's letter (for Categorical applicants only) in your ERAS application package.

What are the interview dates?

IM PGY-1 Interview Dates 2017-2018

NOVEMBER 2017

11/03/17 (Friday)
11/07/17 (Tuesday)
11/10/17 (Friday)
11/14/17 (Tuesday)
11/17/17 (Friday)
11/21/17 (Tuesday)
11/28/17 (Tuesday)

DECEMBER 2017

12/01/17 (Friday)
12/02/17 (Saturday)
12/05/17 (Tuesday)
12/08/17 (Friday)
12/12/17 (Tuesday)
12/15/17 (Friday)
12/19/17 (Tuesday)

JANUARY 2018

01/02/18 (Tuesday)
01/05/18 (Friday)
01/06/18 (Saturday)
01/09/18 (Tuesday)
01/12/18 (Friday)
01/16/18 (Tuesday)
01/19/18 (Tuesday)

How do the Saturday and weekday interview experiences differ?

The weekday interview offers the most complete interviewing experience including morning report, lunch and slide show with the residents and one to three interviews.

The typical weekday interview process is completed by 4 p.m.

Saturday interview dates offer the applicant a limited interview schedule with the convenience of weekend dates. However, the weekend interviewing experience is limited in didactic exposure as well as exposure to our residents.

Saturday interview days typically end at 2 p.m. We encourage a weekday interview.

How large are the residency programs?

  • Categorical - 24-26 PGY-1 opportunities
  • Clinical Scientist - 1-2 PGY-1 opportunities
  • Medicine Pediatrics - 7 PGY-1 opportunities
  • Preliminary Medicine - 4-6 PGY-1 opportunities

Do you accept international graduates?

We are able to interview only the most exceptional candidates from non-U.S. medical schools due to the extremely competitive nature of our training programs.

In considering medical graduates for interview, our typical international resident candidate will have recent clinical experience in the United States with excellent letters of reference.

Most candidates selected for interview will have graduated from medical school within the past two or three years.

International medical graduates are not required to have an ECFMG certificate or USMLE Step 2 results in order to apply and interview with our program; however, the ECFMG certification process must be complete and USMLE 2 CK and CS passed to be eligible for our match list.

We offer both the J1 and the H-1B visas. International medical graduates should be aware that they must have passed USMLE Step 3 to be eligible for an H-1B visa, and Step 3 MUST BE PASSED by February 21, 2018.

Who should I contact for more information?

man smiling while at a computer

More Information

Program Coordinator
Liz Bauke
ucintmed@uc.edu